Rome – Day 2

November 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

This must be hard to follow. I have been switching my posts from city to city. Just so you know, I spent the previous weekend in Rome (whilst still living in Gothenburg), and I have now moved to Taipei. I’m just catching up on old, but interesting things to share.

On our second day in Rome, we visited amongst other sites, the very touristy Piazza di Spagna and Trevi Fountain and their surrounding areas. I was not so impressed by the Spanish Steps. They’re wide and there are lots of them, but other than that, I just didn’t get the hype. There were so many tourists there (even more than elsewhere in Rome, and believe me, there were tourists all over). Maybe because I am not such a crazy shopper, I didn’t enjoy the area much. It is jam-packed with designer stores. I did however have the most delicious pizza in the area. It was actually what A ordered, but since my lunch was not as appetising, I opted to have a chunk of his instead. Hmmm.. Delicious tuna pizza.

3 Spanish Steps

The Trevi fountain was pretty. I more enjoyed the area around it. There were many narrow alleys and I had some delicious gelato. Notice how the food is always the highlight for me. There was also this amazing English book store in the area. (It’s a pity I don’t have my Rome travel guide with me in Taipei, or I could have provided more names.) I read the Bastard of Istanbul a couple of months back, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I found another novel by Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love at the store and I am currently enjoying it just as much.

Trevi Fountain

During our walk from the Trevi Fountain to the Vatican City, we caught sight of the Tiber River. It was beautiful. I was more interested in observing how close to the banks people jogged. One wrong step and they would be washed away, brave Italians!

Tiber River

We only looked at the Vatican City from the outside for a few reasons. 1 was that the queue to enter was just too long. A and I have issues with long lines. In Paris last winter, we didn’t go up the Eiffel Tower for the same reason.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rome – Day 2 at Lillasnigel's Blog.

meta

